Surrender

Just one word from you

is better than a lifetime without;

if that is all I can have of your water,

then make it so.

 

One tender moment almost in your arms

touches me more than a night of sweat;

if that is all I can have of your flesh,

then let it be so.

 

The snow falls heavy and lead

without you.

The rain screams and cries

about you.

 

I am lost about you

now.

I am falling apart faster

now.

 

I long for the grace of your hands

in the spaces of mine.

I yearn for the fuel of your fire

feeding the heat of mine.

 

My lips whimper

for yours.

My heart shivers

for yours.

 

All these unspoken words

ache for voices.

All these written songs

strain for music.

 

All I can do is surrender

to the moment.

The gods know that love

hurts like this –

 

they know,

and it hurts

like you and I.

So close, so far.

 

Your heart beats twice:

once for him,

then for me –

and no one can serve

 

two masters.

Just one day of your love

would be a dream;

but I must retreat for you.

 

Just one look from you

is better than a lifetime without;

if that is all I can have of your light,

then make it so.

 

One word from your lips

speaks more than this poem;

if that is all I can have of your voice,

then let it be so.

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

